Mobile menu

How to use Trados 7
Thread poster: germangenie
Local time: 17:57
English to German
+ ...
Jan 28, 2008

This is the first time for me using Trados 7 with Microsoft 03 and I have ALOT of questions but I am just going to ask the ones that are most important right now:-)

-How do you spell check your target language in trados or can you?
-Does Trados offer Umlauts (used in German Language, they are dots over Vowels)?
-Does Trados give you Terms or suggestions, other then the ones giving in the Memory (which I do not have since I just started using it) so I won't have to look every unknown word up?
-And is there a easy way to fill Trados Memory with words, since I do not have it yet?
-And summed up what does Trados really help you with, as of right now it seems as though it is just making it harder and more time consuming to translate:-) Why do clients want you to use Trados?

Thank you for any answers, I am just really new to this and I want to use Trados because there are many Translation jobs that are posted that require you to use it!

Thanks again!!!

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2008-01-28 09:32]

Direct link Reply with quote

Local time: 23:57
Member (2007)
Dutch to English
starter's course Jan 28, 2008

It sounds like you really don't have any experience with Trados at all, so I would suggest taking a course or maybe asking a fellow translator who uses Trados to help you get you started. It can be very daunting if you've never worked with it before.

Eleni Makantani
Local time: 00:57
Partial member
English to Greek
+ ...
Welcome! Jan 28, 2008

Hello, Germangenie, and welcome to Trados! I also use Trados 7 with MS Office 2003.

It was just like that for me two years ago and all I have to say is that learning to use Trados (I mean, the most important features) shouldn't take you more that an hour. Trados 7 package includes a tutorial (Start - Programs - Trados - Tutorials - New to Trados) which shows you how to get started and start working.