symbols in Tageditor
Thread poster: jokerman

jokerman
Germany
Local time: 22:55
English to German
+ ...
Jan 30, 2008

Could someone enlighten me on how to insert symbols (e.g. _square_ as in 'square meter') when translating in TagEditor, please?

Thanks!

Igor

P.S: Trados 7 Freelance

Direct link Reply with quote

Åsa Campbell  Identity Verified
Australia
Local time: 07:25
English to Swedish
Try this.. Jan 30, 2008

I'm no expert and don't know if there is an easier way but this is what I do:

- find out what the shortcut is for the symbol, you can use word for this:
- open a blank document
- select Insert/Symbol in the menu
- find and select the symbol
- the shortcut key is displayed at the bottom right in the window
- in TagEditor all you need to do is to type the shortcut key (for "Superscript two" the shortcut key is Alt+0178) press the Alt key and type 0178 on your numerical keybord (to the right on your keyboard).

Maybe there is an easier way but I haven't found one.

Hope this helps!

avsie  Identity Verified
English to French
+ ...
File format? Jan 30, 2008

What is the original format of the file you are translating in TagEditor?

In most of the formats I have tried (Excel, PPT, Word, .isc), you can select the text or the number that you want to be in superscript, and then click the "X2" button in the toolbar. This will add a superscript tag around the text selected. Depending on your tag verification settings, you might get an error like 'You have added a tag in the target segment, do you want to continue' when you want to move to the next segment, just ignore it. When the file is converted to its original format, the text within the tag will be in superscript.

I hope I'm clear, if you have questions just let me know!

Marie-Claude

ViktoriaG  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 16:55
English to French
+ ...
Use Quick Key Jan 31, 2008