Mobile menu

Adding multiple translation issue in Translator's Workbench
Thread poster: Andy Liu
Andy Liu
English
Mar 13, 2008

I am new to SDL Trados and my question may seems stupid to all of you.

I have built a local TM with serveral TUs and the TM allows multiple translations. Now, I am translating a Word document with the help of Translator's Workbench. TW finds a 100% match TU for a source segment and I want to add a new translation for it. Then, I modify the translation in the target segment and click "Set/Close" button to update my TM. I suppose it will add a new TU but in fact it overwrite the existing TU. I tried to use "Add as new translation" in the Trandos add-ins toolbar and it works perfect.

Also, No custom text and attribute field has been added in my TM.

Does it mean that I can only use "Add as new translation" to add new translation?

Thanks in advanced.

Environment: WinXP SP2, SDL Trados 2007 SP2, Translator's Workbench 8.2.0.835 (Build 835), MS Office 2003 SP3

[Edited at 2008-03-13 10:44]

Direct link Reply with quote

ViktoriaG  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 10:42
English to French
+ ...
Options Mar 13, 2008

In Workbench, under Options > Translation Memory Options > General, at the bottom of the window, there is an option called "Do not create new translation units if only text fields differ". If that box is checked, that may be the problem. I'd try unchecking it.

Otherwise, check under Options > Translation Memory Options > Tools to see if the option "Always add new translation unit when target segments differ" is checked. If this is not checked, that may be the problem, so try checking it.