Mobile menu

Anyone using SDLX standard?
Thread poster: ninsk
ninsk
English to Russian
+ ...
Oct 31, 2003

i'm thinking about buying SDLX standard. is anyone using it? Would you recommend it?
i'm a freelancer doing occasional translations.
thank you.

Direct link Reply with quote

Giuliana Buscaglione  Identity Verified
Austria
Local time: 18:27
Member (2001)
German to Italian
+ ...
Great software :-) Oct 31, 2003

Hi,

I use SDLX 2003 Stardard Suite. SDLX is a very user-friendly CAT-tool with own editor, fully Trados-compatible.

I have never had troubles with this software - Version 4.2.1. freeezed a couple of times, but due to missing code in the uncleaned files I was editing.

Projects (= when you import a file into SDLX editor you create a project), terminologies and translation memories can be easily created and imported.

Dealing with Powerpoint files in SDLX is simply wonderful, as you don't see the original layout, but only the text you have to translate.. idem with Excel files.

I simply love to work with this CAT.

IMHO it is worthwhile buying a good CAT-tool, when we translate very often texts for the same client (even if they are not repetitive or updates) or similar texts in the same field, where the terminology is recurrent.

For occasional translation I wouldn't recommend any CAT.

Giuliana

[Edited at 2003-10-31 17:08]

Hans-Henning Judek  Identity Verified
Local time: 02:27
German to English
+ ...
It depends.... Oct 31, 2003

I have done several large projects with SDLX. It is working pretty good, but it has also many downsides.

The editor is substandard if you are accustomed working with WORD. For example, there is no autoreplace function, so you have to type everything, which can be annoying with the long German combined nouns.