Basic question to Trados
Thread poster: Libero

Libero
France
Local time: 11:06
French to German
+ ...
Dec 8, 2003

As I do not have neither mobile phone nor trados as a translator I just wanted to know if I a am completely out of time. I would be very thankful to anybody who could very briefly inform me for what kind of translations trados provides what kind of advantages, if it really makes you work faster and your translations more consistent. I see very often translation rates like 5 cent per word on proz.com. Considering the amout of words per day necessary to rentabilize these rates, I wantet to know, if it's just me who is slow, or if trados is the miracle of speed?

Direct link Reply with quote

Kevin Fulton
United States
Local time: 05:06
German to English
You won't get rich relying on Trados Dec 9, 2003

Although I believe in TM tools (DejaVu, Trados, SDLX, etc.), not every translation can be performed using this type of software. The concept behind Translation memory software is the ability to re-use (leverage) translations you have performed in the past when translating new documents. It might take you a year (or two!) before you realize any advantage to using Trados (or another product).

A lot of the low-end jobs require Trados because the texts have a lot of Ja/Nein segments and the agency doesn't want to pay full price for you to translate "yes/no" a hundred times.

The whole concept behind getting a TM program is whether you think you can take advantage of the terminology management facilities offered by the program, not whether there are a lot of low-paying jobs available which require Trados (etc). There are a lot of well-paying jobs that also require a TM program.
Kevin

Pilar T. Bayle  Identity Verified
English to Spanish
+ ...
CATs in general Dec 9, 2003

As I do not have neither mobile phone nor trados as a translator I just wanted to know if I a am completely out of time.