Should I take advantage of SDLX promotion for Trados users?
Thread poster: Hynek Palatin
Hynek Palatin
Hynek Palatin  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
Local time: 21:01
Member (2003)
English to Czech
+ ...
Aug 17, 2004

[...edited by site staff...]

I would like to know your opinion on SDLX 2004 Professional vs. Trados Freelance 6.5. Is it worth converting to?

I am a technical translator, I use Trados every day and I am quite happy with it. (The only thing I don't like is the formatting problem with MS Word files.) Quite a lot of my jobs come in Trados format (bilingual Word files or TagEditor files). I don't have any experience with SDLX and unfortunately I don't have time to try the e
... See more
[...edited by site staff...]

I would like to know your opinion on SDLX 2004 Professional vs. Trados Freelance 6.5. Is it worth converting to?

I am a technical translator, I use Trados every day and I am quite happy with it. (The only thing I don't like is the formatting problem with MS Word files.) Quite a lot of my jobs come in Trados format (bilingual Word files or TagEditor files). I don't have any experience with SDLX and unfortunately I don't have time to try the evaluation version during the next 3 days.

So, do you think SDLX is so much better than Trados that it's worth paying $795?
Collapse

Brandis (X)
Brandis (X)
English to German
+ ...
this is something one should know oneself Aug 17, 2004

Hynek Palatin wrote:

SDL offers SDLX 2004 to Trados users for a reduced price. The offer is valid until August 20. See http://www.sdl.com/freedom

I am a technical translator, I use Trados every day and I am quite happy with it. (The only thing I don't like is the formatting problem with MS Word files.) Quite a lot of my jobs come in Trados format (bilingual Word files or TagEditor files). I don't have any experience with SDLX and unfortunately I don't have time to try the evaluation version during the next 3 days.