Thread poster: Yves Georges

Yves Georges  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 06:56
Member (2001)
English to French
+ ...
Sep 11, 2001

I would like to open a new dicussion on CAT Tools.

I have been doing an extensive use of Transit for almost 5 years. I have bought Trados and I am using it regularly (because I have to do it – see what I mean?).

In order to set up a comparison table about the existing CAT tools, I would like to set up a list of the features that a translator would like to have on a CAT tool and see how CAT tools are adressing these needs.

Conversely an appreciation about existing features would be welcome too.

I do not doubt that Henry (I know you\'ll read this Henry) will be interrested in publishing/maintaining such a table.

Just a personal comment: Trados has a predominant position, it seems to prevents them to make a real good product (but I have found some good/excellent things in Trados).

Another one: all the features I happened to ask to Star have been (with variable efficiency) implemented in Transit.

A last one: although I have worked relatively close to Star/Transit (I was Xgate for PC and Transit 3.0 beta-tester) I am absolutely independant from them.

Yves
[addsig]

Direct link Reply with quote

áine Ní Bhriain
English
+ ...
expressing an interest in the comparison study Jul 4, 2002

Hi Yves,

I think that sounds like a great idea and I hope to be of some use at a later stage. I am using Trados at the moment but I\'m trying out the free downloads of Déjà Vu and Satelite PE too. I\'m working on a project to review the available translation memory tools with a view to recommending one for use with the Irish language. I\'d be happy to share any thoughts with you but need sometime to familiarise myself with the packages first. Just thought I send a note of support, hope to be in contact at a later stage.

Best of luck

Áine Ní Bhriain

Henry Dotterer
Local time: 00:56
SITE FOUNDER
It is a good idea. Jul 9, 2002