https://www.proz.com/forum/smart_shoppers/3531-cat_tools_and_other_software_needed_by_translators.html

CAT tools and other software needed by translators
Thread poster: Diana Marfogel
Diana Marfogel
Diana Marfogel  Identity Verified
Israel
Local time: 13:57
Hebrew to Spanish
+ ...
Jun 24, 2002

I have been a freelance translator for the last two years.

I work with my PC, Windows, Word, etc. But I don\'t have any translation software.

I have decided to expand, and my question is: What does a translator need, in terms of the above mentioned tools, to be more \"attractive\" to potential clients, to expand, but without turning to be a \"factory\". My second question: My glossaries are in Excel at the moment. I almost don\'t use them, due to lack of functionality, althou
... See more
I have been a freelance translator for the last two years.

I work with my PC, Windows, Word, etc. But I don\'t have any translation software.

I have decided to expand, and my question is: What does a translator need, in terms of the above mentioned tools, to be more \"attractive\" to potential clients, to expand, but without turning to be a \"factory\". My second question: My glossaries are in Excel at the moment. I almost don\'t use them, due to lack of functionality, although I have valuable terminology there. I heard Trados has a special device. What do you know about that? Does anyone has experience with this?

Thank you! Diana
Collapse

Ralf Lemster
Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 12:57
English to German
+ ...
Take a few hours and browse this forum Jun 24, 2002

I guess you\'ll find quite a lot of information here - difficult to give you a quick digest without knowing your circumstances in detail.

David Daduč
David Daduč
Czech Republic
English to Czech
Wordfast!!! Jun 25, 2002

Dear Diana,

I was in your situation 3 months ago. Luckily, my friend told me about software called Wordfast. See www.champollion.net.