Thread poster: RieM
RieM
RieM  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 16:27
English to Japanese
+ ...
Mar 6, 2007

I'm thinking of buying an accounting tool to make my life a bit easier (I'm a US resident and I'm in the middle of tax preparations. yuk). Which one would you use and/or which one would you recommend? Your suggestion would be much appreciated.

Benno Groeneveld
Benno Groeneveld  Identity Verified
United States
English to Dutch
+ ...
Quicken Mar 6, 2007

They have a basic plus small business version. Allows you to mamange your checking and other accounts in the computer. Some banks also allow you to download your statement into Quicken (or other software). Handy if you use a debit card, because those transactions also download, so you don't forget to enter them in your system.

The small business part has a simple invoice-writing system. In my versions I have to take a couple of steps copying the text of the invoice to Word, but I th
... See more
They have a basic plus small business version. Allows you to mamange your checking and other accounts in the computer. Some banks also allow you to download your statement into Quicken (or other software). Handy if you use a debit card, because those transactions also download, so you don't forget to enter them in your system.

The small business part has a simple invoice-writing system. In my versions I have to take a couple of steps copying the text of the invoice to Word, but I then have a standard invoice to send off into the wild blue yonder.

The nice thing is, the system keeps track of who owes you what since when, so you can easily send (gentle) reminders when it's taking them too long.

Costs about $100 if I remember correctly. I found I don't need more advanced versions of things like Quickbooks, since I'm just a simple one-person translation machine/operation. If you're an agency, or aspire to that, I would look into Quickbooks.
Collapse

RieM
RieM  Identity Verified
United States