Vahur Lokk
Georgia
Local time: 08:30
English to Estonian
+ ...
Dec 5, 2007

Hello!

A bit weird situation.
10 months a year i am an ordinary freelancer, doing my 10-something projects a month, few invoices, no suppliers, etc.
2 months a year, namely october-november I am responsible for coordinating a subtitle translation for a film festival. For a one-man-business this is pretty huge:
2000 pages and growing every year, many language combinations, 40+ translators and editors with different types of contracts, payment and taxation options, 1
... See more
Hello!

A bit weird situation.
10 months a year i am an ordinary freelancer, doing my 10-something projects a month, few invoices, no suppliers, etc.
2 months a year, namely october-november I am responsible for coordinating a subtitle translation for a film festival. For a one-man-business this is pretty huge:
2000 pages and growing every year, many language combinations, 40+ translators and editors with different types of contracts, payment and taxation options, 1-2 project managers have to be hired temporarily. One crazy client, one invoice to cover everything when the show is over.
Altogether, a nice big funny farm.
I have been using Excel till now, but last festival drove it home to me the hard way - I am going to need some real PM software to survive next year. And I don't know, where to start.
Everything available seems to be web-based and that's not gonna work for me, cause during the project there is lots of hand delivery of DVDs, project managers are constantly moving around and they can't be always online (read - can't connect to project management software).