Dragon and Metatexis problem: Please help! [DNS puts words at start of document,not in open segment]
Thread poster: Kai Boe

Kai Boe
Spain
Local time: 23:02
English to German
+ ...
Dec 9, 2006

Hi -

I have just started to work with DNS 9.0 and have a problem after entering the text and after changing into the new segment.

When I start dictating, DNS starts to place the words at the beginning of the document instead of placing them into the open segment (where I have also had the cursor, of course). This is -of course quite annoying as I have to get back manually into the segment and start over again.

Can anyone help?

Thanks,

Kai

[Edited at 2006-12-10 03:51]

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2006-12-10 04:01]

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2006-12-11 09:48]

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2007-03-13 21:12]

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2007-03-13 21:13]

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2007-03-13 21:13]


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Ben Dooley
Local time: 17:02
Japanese to English
same problem, any solution yet? Mar 12, 2007

I've encountered the same problem. Very annoying. Has anyone found a solution yet?

Thanks,
Ben


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Berni Armstrong  Identity Verified
Local time: 23:02
Member
English
+ ...
Metatexis back to normal May 2, 2007

Hi just seen this.

I was using DNS 7 and it worked perfectly with Metatexis. Switched to DNS 8 and had the exact problem you describe. So I went back to Dragon 7 - problem solved.

Wish I knew what was causing it too!


Direct link Reply with quote
 
Comunican
United Kingdom
Local time: 22:02
Solution to problem of DNS jumping in Wordfast May 8, 2007

I am not sure whether this will work with Metatexis, too, but I seem (accidentally) to have found a solution to the problem with DNS and Wordfast, where the cursor jumps to the beginning of the text.
My solution is to say "cap" as if you're about to put a word in capitals. The cursor will then jump to wherever it is (wrongly) going to jump but doesn't write anything because it is waiting for you to say a word to put in capitals. You can then manually move your cursor back to the box where you want to translate and carry on. It's a bit cumbersome and it is irritating to have to do this, but if you're a slow typer like me, it's still worth it. I hope this helps...


Direct link Reply with quote
 


To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:


You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

Dragon and Metatexis problem: Please help! [DNS puts words at start of document,not in open segment]

Advanced search






Across v6.3
Translation Toolkit and Sales Potential under One Roof

Apart from features that enable you to translate more efficiently, the new Across Translator Edition v6.3 comprises your crossMarket membership. The new online network for Across users assists you in exploring new sales potential and generating revenue.

More info »
SDL MultiTerm 2017
Guarantee a unified, consistent and high-quality translation with terminology software by the industry leaders.

SDL MultiTerm 2017 allows translators to create one central location to store and manage multilingual terminology, and with SDL MultiTerm Extract 2017 you can automatically create term lists from your existing documentation to save time.

More info »



All of ProZ.com
  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs