Student users-only topic
RE: Student mentoring through Proz
Thread poster: RachelG

RachelG  Identity Verified
Local time: 02:17
German to English
Apr 1, 2008

Hi everyone!

Just joined and finding my way around this site. I have just joined as a student and saw that by joining this way there was the opportunity to be mentored by an experienced translator.

Does anyone know how I go about this? Also I would like to know how I go about getting experience.. I have a degree in German and Spanish and am in the first year of a distance-learning MA in Translation. I would be translating from English into German.

I would be grateful for any advice.

many thanks,
Rachel G. (England)

Direct link

Anna Martinez  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
English to Spanish
+ ...
Herzlich Willkommen, Rachel! Apr 2, 2008

Here's the link to join the Mentoring Scheme:

http://www.proz.com/?sp=exchange&exchange_area=mentoring

The only problem seems to be the lack of balance between the number of students requesting a mentor and the number of professionals offering themselves as mentors I wish it could be livened up a bit!

One good way to get some translation experience is doing voluntary (pro bono) translation work for charities. I spent a good deal of my BA doing that and I must say that it did pay off.

http://www.proz.com/translation-articles/articles/78/1/Sources-of-Pro-Bono-Translation-Work

Cheers,

Anna

[Edited at 2008-04-02 12:51]

Direct link

Silvia Fuster  Identity Verified
English to Spanish
+ ...
Thank you Apr 2, 2008

Thank you so much Anna, I have exactly the same problem as Rachel and as many other students of translation.

Thanx again its very helpful.

Silvia Fuster.

Direct link

Anne Diamantidis  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 03:17
German to French
+ ...
ProZ.com Events Apr 7, 2008

Anna Martinez wrote: