https://www.proz.com/forum/studentz_forum/110011-is_a_specialization_necessary_to_work_as_a_translator.html

Student users-only topic

Is a specialization necessary to work as a translator?
Thread poster: mariacris
mariacris
mariacris
Spanish to French
Jul 12, 2008

Hello everybody

I´m studying Modern Languages and I hope to end my carreer in two semesters. Definitly, languages are my passion. But, there is a question that rounds in my mind, if I want to work as a translator, I have to get an specialization in this field?, or I could take courses of both languages "english and french" for improving my performance and rather get an specialization in another issue such as Business.

Thanks in advance for your advices.

C
... See more
Hello everybody

I´m studying Modern Languages and I hope to end my carreer in two semesters. Definitly, languages are my passion. But, there is a question that rounds in my mind, if I want to work as a translator, I have to get an specialization in this field?, or I could take courses of both languages "english and french" for improving my performance and rather get an specialization in another issue such as Business.

Thanks in advance for your advices.

Cheers

Maria

[Objet modifié par l'équipe ou un modérateur 2008-07-12 07:05]

[Objet modifié par l'équipe ou un modérateur 2008-07-12 07:05]
Collapse

aricb
aricb
Local time: 01:28
French to English
+ ...
Three kinds of specialization are required Jul 14, 2008

First, you need good skills in all of the languages you want to work with. You should only translate into languages that you speak at a native (or native-like) level. You should only translate from languages that you understand very well. Presumably, you are already doing very well with this kind of specialization.

Second, you need to know a thing or two about the theory and practice of translation: terms of art, textual analysis, dealing with the anisomorphism of language and cu
... See more