Starting off in sub-titling
Thread poster: Suzana Marques
Suzana Marques
Suzana Marques
Local time: 17:05
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Apr 15, 2008

Hi, I've been a translator for 14 years now and would like to start translating movies, dvd's etc. How do I go about that? What kind of software would I need? Any suggestions? Thank you

Juan Jacob
Juan Jacob  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 10:05
French to Spanish
+ ...
Hi. Apr 15, 2008

"Hi, I've been a translator for 14 years now and would like to start translating movies, dvd's etc. How do I go about that? What kind of software would I need? Any suggestions? Thank you."

1.- Please see other contributions in this forum;
2.- Do you want to just translate or translate and subtitle?;
a) translate only. Client will give you what we call a spotting list [Time In, Time Out and text you have to translate] and a DVD or a compressed file of the motion pict
... See more
"Hi, I've been a translator for 14 years now and would like to start translating movies, dvd's etc. How do I go about that? What kind of software would I need? Any suggestions? Thank you."

1.- Please see other contributions in this forum;
2.- Do you want to just translate or translate and subtitle?;
a) translate only. Client will give you what we call a spotting list [Time In, Time Out and text you have to translate] and a DVD or a compressed file of the motion picture. That's "easy". If no spotting list available, just a "dialogue list", he'll have to give you a software [or you find one: Subtitle Workshop is for free and quite good] and then you are in trouble. You'll have to insert Time In and Time Out and translate [and adapt: we are the only translators paid NOT to translate everything because lack of time for reading]... all this almost BY EAR. If no dialogue list, big trouble. Everything BY EAR. If you are good at it, 3/4 days for a motion picture!