Maria Timoshina
Maria Timoshina  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 11:19
English to Russian
+ ...
Jul 7, 2008

Dear all!

Recently I've started working film translation agency (mostly American war films, with lots of army terminology), so I'm quite new to subtitling. Nevertheless, the work seemed quite interesting to me.

But the last film the agency sent to me had lots of missing subtitles. I said to my client that this film is not ready for translation and I will probably spend too much time trying to understand the actors' speech without subtitles, so this is another kind of
... See more
Dear all!

Recently I've started working film translation agency (mostly American war films, with lots of army terminology), so I'm quite new to subtitling. Nevertheless, the work seemed quite interesting to me.

But the last film the agency sent to me had lots of missing subtitles. I said to my client that this film is not ready for translation and I will probably spend too much time trying to understand the actors' speech without subtitles, so this is another kind of job (kind of oral translation) and, therefore, it should be paid differently. My client then tried to explain to me that translating without subtitles is much easier and "LOTS" of their "more experienced" translators intentionally do not look in the subtitles to save time. The discussion finished in such a way that I am probably not experienced enough yet to translate so "difficult" films and that he would better give this order to another translator and call me later with an easier film.

So, the thing I want to ask is who is right in this situation. I am probably not experienced enough, but still I can't understand how can translation without subtitles be easier? And another question is how price of this translation differ from a normal subtitles translation?

Thanks a lot.
Collapse

José Henrique Lamensdorf
José Henrique Lamensdorf  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 06:19
English to Portuguese
+ ...