Hamza Awamleh
Hamza Awamleh
Jordan
Local time: 05:07
English to Arabic
+ ...
Sep 23, 2008

hello all
i've been reading the topics on how much to charge per minute of video, and honestly i haven't had a clear answer to it, many say so different prices, to narrow this, how much is it in the USA?
im studying a new business project of subtitling, and we deal with minutes of video here, so can anyone provide any close estimate?
i'll just add that i'll be getting a video and transcript from the client, and lets say its a video file, not DVD or VHS or such.
another th
... See more
hello all
i've been reading the topics on how much to charge per minute of video, and honestly i haven't had a clear answer to it, many say so different prices, to narrow this, how much is it in the USA?
im studying a new business project of subtitling, and we deal with minutes of video here, so can anyone provide any close estimate?
i'll just add that i'll be getting a video and transcript from the client, and lets say its a video file, not DVD or VHS or such.
another thing, its subtitling with time cuing.

help is much appreciated

[Edited at 2008-09-23 02:47]

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2008-09-23 16:05]
Collapse

Juan Jacob
Juan Jacob  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 20:07
French to Spanish
+ ...
One question, as always. Sep 23, 2008

You say "subtitling".
Are you going to subtitle a DVD, or something else, or are you going to translate a spotting list in order other people will do the subtitling?
That's not the same.

José Henrique Lamensdorf
José Henrique Lamensdorf  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 23:07
English to Portuguese
+ ...
In memoriam
There is no CLEAR answer Sep 23, 2008

NOTE: Figures in Brazilian currency (reais) See http://www.x-rates.com/d/BRL/table.html to convert, however it will still be the Brazilian market.

The problem is that rates vary a lot within the same country.