https://www.proz.com/forum/subtitling/68958-rate_too_low.html

Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Rate too low?
Thread poster: Lena Eddebrant (X)
Lena Eddebrant (X)
Lena Eddebrant (X)
Local time: 10:47
Mar 22, 2007

I have been offered a freelance job for a well-known UK based company, and would like to know if the rate I was offered is considered normal.

The rate was £2 for subsequent translation, subtitling. This would be the equivalent of 4 USD in my currency (SEK). My language pair is English > Swedish, and I have two years experience from subtitling.

Rolf Klischewski, M.A.
Rolf Klischewski, M.A.  Identity Verified
Member (2008)
English to German
+ ...
$4 are quite common Mar 22, 2007

I know a large agency paying that rate for ENG-GER, too.

The question is (as always): Can you make a living on such a rate?

Cheers,

Rolf (C:

Agnieszka Hayward (X)
Agnieszka Hayward (X)
Poland
German to Polish
+ ...
Please specify Mar 22, 2007

Lena Eddebrant wrote:

The rate was £2 for subsequent translation, subtitling.

Is this per minute of the film or per subtitle?

Regards,
Agnieszka

Lena Eddebrant (X)
Lena Eddebrant (X)
TOPIC STARTER
Per minute Mar 22, 2007

Sorry, I forgot to write that out. The rate is £2 per minute for subsequent translation.

Agnieszka Hayward (X)
Agnieszka Hayward (X)
Poland
German to Polish
+ ...
Decent rate, then Mar 22, 2007

Lena Eddebrant wrote:

Sorry, I forgot to write that out. The rate is £2 per minute for subsequent translation.

£2 per minute sounds fine. Quite fine

May, of course, depend on the current exchange rate.

[Edited at 2007-03-22 20:17]

sokolniki
sokolniki  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 03:47
English to Russian
+ ...
By US standards.. Mar 22, 2007