dubbing and subtitling
Thread poster: Peppe84
Peppe84
Peppe84
English to Spanish
Apr 3, 2007

Hi, I'm Peppe
I'm doing a survey for my dissertation.I'm a languges student and I would like to have your opinion for my dissertation about dubbing and subtitling what do you think about these translation techniques and why?

José Henrique Lamensdorf
José Henrique Lamensdorf  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 18:17
English to Portuguese
+ ...
In memoriam
They are two different techniques Apr 11, 2007

Peppe,

They are two different techniques, and not everyone masters both.

In my personal case, I had been translating for top-quality lip-sync dubbing (training, technical, and corporate video) for almost 18 years before I dared to venture into translation for subtitling. (Yeah, I tried it now and then before, but the results were not good.) At last, some 2 years ago, I made up my mind to learn to do it properly, and have been doing it ever since, even burning the subtit
... See more
Peppe,

They are two different techniques, and not everyone masters both.

In my personal case, I had been translating for top-quality lip-sync dubbing (training, technical, and corporate video) for almost 18 years before I dared to venture into translation for subtitling. (Yeah, I tried it now and then before, but the results were not good.) At last, some 2 years ago, I made up my mind to learn to do it properly, and have been doing it ever since, even burning the subtitles myself, thanks to the DVD (r)evolution.

Don't get misled into thinking that either one is more difficult than the other. I know colleagues who have been translating for subtitling about as long as I've been doing it for dubbing, but who won't touch a translation for dubbing job.

Some key features are:

1. DUBBING: