Hej Sverige (Nouveau en Suède)
Thread poster: Emmanuel Sanjuan

Emmanuel Sanjuan  Identity Verified
Local time: 09:02
Spanish to French
+ ...
Feb 9, 2004

Bonjour Ă  tous.
Je commence à faire des traductions techniques de l'anglais vers le français et de l'espagnol vers le français.
Combien dois-je demander au mot en Couronnes?

Tack tack
Hej do.

Direct link Reply with quote
English to Swedish
+ ...
It depends.... Mar 3, 2004

Combien dois-je demander au mot en Couronnes?

Hej Emmanuel!

Although I understand written French and Spanish, I cannot write either of them properly, so excuse me for replying in English.

Before setting a price, you should consider your own level of experience, in

a.) translation
b.) the subject of the translation

If you are starting out as a translator, I think you should try to find agencies in France and Spain/Latin America who are willing to proofread your texts and give you constructive criticism / feedback.

In this case, offer your services at a low rate (e.g. 50 Ăśre / source text word) in exchange for them teaching you how to translate well.

If you are lucky, you will find a mentor to take you through your first one or two years, and after this, you will be able to gradually demand better rates.

Please note that your target market is the most important for your rates - you are competing on French and Spanish/Latin American terms - so French and Spanish/Latin American rates will affect you as a professional. You will probably have to adjust to that reality more than to the price level and rates of Sweden.

Mes meilleures sentiments,

Mats Wiman  Identity Verified
Member (2000)
German to Swedish
+ ...

Moderator of this forum
Bienvenu! Mar 3, 2004

Cher Emmanuel,

Ce forum porte sur des participants qui parlent suĂŠdois mais comme exception....

Mürten t'a donnÊ des très bons conseils.

Á la prochaine fois - en suÊdois.

Mats J C Wiman
Übersetzer/Translator/Traducteur/Traductor > swe
( moderator, deu>swe, Swedish)
Träsk 201