retaining knowledge of a language
Thread poster: silver_galaxy
silver_galaxy
silver_galaxy
English to Vietnamese
+ ...
Apr 7, 2008

hello -

I am a new prozian. I've been learning Vietnamese, English, and Spanish for many years. I find the process quite fun and also very challenging. I try to keep my language skills "sharp" by reading books and watching films in those languages and of course, speaking whenever possible. Still, it gets difficult sometimes, and I start wondering if I'll ever get really good. Anyhow, I'd be glad to hear what fellow prozians have to say about their experiences learning/keeping
... See more
hello -

I am a new prozian. I've been learning Vietnamese, English, and Spanish for many years. I find the process quite fun and also very challenging. I try to keep my language skills "sharp" by reading books and watching films in those languages and of course, speaking whenever possible. Still, it gets difficult sometimes, and I start wondering if I'll ever get really good. Anyhow, I'd be glad to hear what fellow prozians have to say about their experiences learning/keeping up with a language (or several as many here seem to do).

Ngan
Collapse

Alexandra Goldburt
Alexandra Goldburt
Local time: 23:33
English to Russian
+ ...
Speaking the language whenever possible Apr 7, 2008

Ngan,

You are on the wright track - except that, when you say "speaking the language whenever possible", please understand that it depends on you whether and when it's possible.

Do not wait for the speaker of the language you want to practice to fall from the sky in front of you. Don't wait for the opportunities - create them!

Unfortunately, your profile does not say where you live, so I cannot be mo
... See more
Ngan,

You are on the wright track - except that, when you say "speaking the language whenever possible", please understand that it depends on you whether and when it's possible.