Learning 3 languages or more
Thread poster: hfp
hfp
United States
Local time: 03:10
Spanish to English
+ ...
May 3, 2008

Hey, everyone. I am new to Proz and greatly apologize if this topic has been addressed before. I am interested in learning a third language, but I am not sure of the best way to go about that, and if that is the best decision. I have been learning Spanish for years and am continuing to do so here in Chile, but I can't help wanting to head over to Asia and take on Chinese after a few years. My plan is to stay here for a few years, maybe 3, 4 or 5, who knows, as long as it takes me to even begin to think like a native speaker of Spanish and then head off to China or Taiwan. One of my professors here in Chile went to China last year and taught Spanish. I would love to do something like that so I don't lose my Spanish.

I know there are a bunch of people that say they speak 6,7,8 or 10 languages, but right now that is not my goal. A lot of the time these people don't seem to be all that fluent in each language, but that is a generalization of course. Some people are truly dedicated and can speak all kinds of langauges. I am not looking into learning a third language with the idea of being a masterful translator of Chinese into English/Spanish and vice versa. It is more of a personal interest for my own benefit. However, I would also like to read and write in the language, not just survive.

What do you think about learning 3 languages and about what I have said? Thanks a lot for everything.

Direct link Reply with quote

Williamson  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 08:10
Flemish to English
+ ...
My 2 cents May 3, 2008