Mobile menu

On-line tutoring. Any opinions?
Thread poster: Javier Herrera
Javier Herrera
Spanish
Sep 16, 2004

Dear all,
I've been doing one-to-one tuition for a year and a half now and am wondering if I could get more tutees by offering on-line tuition as well.
I'm clueless about it, though. Does anybody know how to get started? or, could you give me any tips you think a beginner should have?
Best regards,
Javier Herrera

Direct link Reply with quote

Tony Pratschke
Ireland
Local time: 23:39
Irish to English
+ ...
On-line language tuition Sep 17, 2004

Hello Javier and anyone else interested in this topic.

I have been tutoring English on-line for the past two months and I find it very easy and pleasant to do. I am aware of two web sites that recruit teachers, but I don't know whether they need any at the moment. You can find further details at and also

There is not a great deal technically to learn about it. I use telephone or web phone (depends upon the client) and a web site which has a chat box and whiteboard. This combination allows me to speak directly to the student and provide OHPs and other prepared visual materials.

Classes typically last 45 minutes. The students don't seem to experience any great difficulties although older adults occasionally feel nervous about their ability to cope with the technology. Generally students like it because they can have their class in their home or office at a time that suits them.

Additional software and hardware helps; I use a headphone set (microphone and earphones) and voice recognition software to speed up the process.

If you have any further questions don't hesitate to contact me.

Best wishes,

Tony Pratschke

Nazim Aziz Gokdemir  Identity Verified
Local time: 18:39
English to Turkish
+ ...
The links didn't make it Sep 17, 2004

Wow, I was just going to post requesting a repost of the links (couldn't see them even after displaying the page source), but when I hit Reply with quote, there they were in the quote: