Young Learners/PET/KET/FCE examiners/teachers
Thread poster: lingomania
lingomania
lingomania
Local time: 23:51
Italian to English
May 13, 2007

I'm just checking to see if there are any YL/PET/KET/FCE examiners and /or teachers out there and what you think of this job.

Rob

Owen Davies
Owen Davies
Japan
Local time: 22:51
Member (2007)
Japanese to English
+ ...
YLE OETC May 14, 2007

Hi Rob,
I'm an OETC (Oral Examiner Trainer & Coordinator) for Young Learners here in Japan. The job itself isn't full time of course - unless you work directly for Cambridge in the UK there are not that many full time employees around the world. However, the support system is excellent as is the training and coordination. Even as a trainer I have to be evaluated and coordinated once a year to make sure that exams and training are standardized around the world. That assessment continues on
... See more
Hi Rob,
I'm an OETC (Oral Examiner Trainer & Coordinator) for Young Learners here in Japan. The job itself isn't full time of course - unless you work directly for Cambridge in the UK there are not that many full time employees around the world. However, the support system is excellent as is the training and coordination. Even as a trainer I have to be evaluated and coordinated once a year to make sure that exams and training are standardized around the world. That assessment continues on up the hierarchy.
As for the exams themselves, students do get a sense of genuine accomplishment, and for the kids there is not so much pressure as the grading is done on a "shield system" without the dreaded "Pass" or "Fail". But it i clear enough to allow teachers to see what areas need to be improved.
Just a quick reply, if you need any specific information, feel free to ask!
All the best,
Owen
Collapse

Marcela Mestre
Marcela Mestre  Identity Verified
Argentina
Local time: 10:51
English to Spanish
FCE teacher May 15, 2007

Hi,