Mobile menu

Teaching English as a second language
Thread poster: Daly Gordon-Bahat

Daly Gordon-Bahat
Local time: 06:20
English to Hebrew
+ ...
Aug 25, 2007

As an experienced English teacher, I have learned through the years that teaching a language must be done while using it in class as much as you can. When I enter the class, I "forget" about being an Israeli whose native tongue is Hebrew (much to the disapopintment of my pupils, of course) and I speak only English. I do so because I believe that students should be exposed to the language taught as much as possible.

However, all of that changes when I begin to teach English Grammar, which is very different from the Hebrew one. For example, we have only three tenses - future, present and past while in English when dealing only with the present tenses we teach the Present Simple, Present Progressive, Present Perfect Simple and Progressive. Let's not forget the difference in gender - while in English the word 'You' refers to singular\plural\female\male, in Hebrew we have a different word for each and the verb changes differently for each. So now you
can begin to understand the big difference.

When I say, all of that changes I refer to the language - while I insist to speak only English during the lessons and that the kids will answer in English as much as they can, when I teach grammar, I speak Hebrew. I do so mainly for two reasons - to lower the anxiety Israeli students feel whenever they hear the word grammar and in order to demonstrate and clearly explain the differences between the two languages concerning grammar.