Hermeneutica
Hermeneutica  Identity Verified
Switzerland
Local time: 19:17
Dutch to English
+ ...
Oct 11, 2007

Hi All,

I just came back from a holiday in Greece and have decided I need to learn for next time so as not to miss out on so much of the richness of the experience as this time. I am a rank beginner with just a few words, but as I know a number of other languages and was trained as a linguist I feel I have some hope of succeeding [one day]. I am looking primarily for a self-instruction course, ideally with CDs for pronunciation and exercises and *solutions* to the exercises!! An onl
... See more
Hi All,

I just came back from a holiday in Greece and have decided I need to learn for next time so as not to miss out on so much of the richness of the experience as this time. I am a rank beginner with just a few words, but as I know a number of other languages and was trained as a linguist I feel I have some hope of succeeding [one day]. I am looking primarily for a self-instruction course, ideally with CDs for pronunciation and exercises and *solutions* to the exercises!! An online course would also be ok. I live in a small hamlet basically in the middle of nowhere and spend most of my time in front of the computer for work etc., don't go out driving very much and only have a tape player in the car anyway ... therefore would prefer some form of CD to use directly on the computer.

By way of some sort of indication, in Greece a friend lent me the Hugo's Beginners Course book, which is not too bad [it could be worse] but I only found it on sale with tapes, not CDs, so ....

Look forward to any input you may be able to give me!!

Thank you so much in advance

Dee
Collapse

Deschant
Deschant
Local time: 18:17
Kypros.org Oct 11, 2007

This course was really great a few years back, when I first started learning Greek: http://www.kypros.org/LearnGreek/ . You have to register but it used to be free. Don't know if anything has changed though.