Vietnamese and Chinese - how close are they really?
Thread poster: Fabio Descalzi
Fabio Descalzi
Fabio Descalzi  Identity Verified
Uruguay
Local time: 18:33
Member (2004)
German to Spanish
+ ...
Dec 24, 2007

Hi people from all over the world

This is a question about tips for learning Vietnamese. A very concrete question.

To start with: I am a fluent speaker of Western European languages. And in my teens I started learning Chinese as well, which has been so far the most "exotic and different" language I ever tried.
Lately, as a result of being active in the language industry, I have been managing projects in Vietnamese - and this language has started to tempt me.
... See more
Hi people from all over the world

This is a question about tips for learning Vietnamese. A very concrete question.

To start with: I am a fluent speaker of Western European languages. And in my teens I started learning Chinese as well, which has been so far the most "exotic and different" language I ever tried.
Lately, as a result of being active in the language industry, I have been managing projects in Vietnamese - and this language has started to tempt me.

Reading about the fundamentals of Vietnamese, I come to learn that a lot of its vocabulary has been borrowed from Chinese. But what about the rest of the language? Word order, structure, syntax, use of classifiers, tones, etc.? Is it of any real help to know Chinese, or is it much better to start studying Vietnamese as a completely different language?

Suggestions welcome.

Best regards,
Fabio Descalzi
Collapse

Kurt Porter
Kurt Porter  Identity Verified
Local time: 02:33
Russian to English
+ ...
Vietnamese Dec 25, 2007

Study it as it's own language. If I'm not mistaken, Chinese has four tones, while Vietnames has six. Of course, the writing systems are different too. Vietnamese grammar is not very complex. Once you get the tones down, the main grammar rules, pronunciation, i'ts all vocabulary enhancement. Good luck!

Shane Wall