Applied Linguistics: Italian or Portuguese?
Thread poster: thomasl
thomasl
thomasl
Local time: 03:40
French to Dutch
+ ...
Mar 16, 2008

I'm currently studying Dutch, French and Spanish (Applied Linguistics) in Antwerp, Belgium. I'm in the first bachelor, but next year we'll be able to choose a 4th language. I would really like to do this, but I'm not sure which language to choose. I'm still hesitating between Italian and Portuguese. Both languages interest me, but maybe there are a few things which make it more interesting to learn Italian rather than Portuguese (or contrary)? Can you help me find pro's and contra's for Italian ... See more
I'm currently studying Dutch, French and Spanish (Applied Linguistics) in Antwerp, Belgium. I'm in the first bachelor, but next year we'll be able to choose a 4th language. I would really like to do this, but I'm not sure which language to choose. I'm still hesitating between Italian and Portuguese. Both languages interest me, but maybe there are a few things which make it more interesting to learn Italian rather than Portuguese (or contrary)? Can you help me find pro's and contra's for Italian and Portuguese?

Thanks in advance,
Thomas
Collapse

Kim Metzger
Kim Metzger  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 19:40
German to English
For what purpose? Mar 16, 2008

Hi Thomas - what do you intend to do with your applied linguistics studies? If you'd like to be a translator, I don't think it's a good idea to add another language at this point if you're not required to do so. I would concentrate on no more than two source languages. Translating requires mastery of the source languages. Most professional translators translate only from one source language into their mother tongue.

thomasl
thomasl
French to Dutch
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Translator Mar 16, 2008

Hi Kim,