How to deal with fragments as segments in STAR XV
Thread poster: Rob2031

Rob2031
Canada
Local time: 18:57
German to English
+ ...
Nov 13, 2008

I'm brand new to using STAR XV Professional, so my apologies in advance if this has been covered before elsewhere (though I have searched for it.)

I have encountered a situation in which 1 sentence in the source text has for some reason been split into two fragment segments. In trying to rectify this, I see that by right clicking in the target language window I have the option to either split a segment or join it to the next one. "Join" would be the obvious choice, I then receive a warning to ensure that I do the same thing in the source window. However, there is no option to split or join segments in the source language window.

eg.:
segment 65:
"Die XYZ [company name] verlaengert den bis Ende 2009 laufenden Vertrag als Partner des"
segment 66:
"ABC nicht mehr."

Any help on sorting this out properly greatly appeciated.

R.

Direct link Reply with quote

Antoní­n Otáhal
Local time: 03:57
Member (2005)
English to Czech
+ ...
Enable Nov 14, 2008

When the source window is active, uncheck "Read Only" in the "View" menu. Do not forget to restore this protection once you are done.

Remarks:

(1) In my experience, after you join or split segments, all the indexing goes berserk (fuzzy matches do not correspond to each other properly); the best way is to do all the segment joining in the project and then save all and restart Transit.

(2) Sometimes strange things may happen - I recommend you should back up the whole folder of the respective project before you play with these things. Or at least make a reference extract of the work done.

Antonin

Rob2031
Canada
Local time: 18:57
German to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thx for the info Antonín Nov 14, 2008

Many thanks for the reply -- I was really at a loss. You've helped immensely.

Rob

To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator: