Thread poster: Paul Adie (X)
Paul Adie (X)
Paul Adie (X)  Identity Verified
Germany
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jun 9, 2008

Hello fellow translators!

Just on to ask for clarification of something that continually confuses me. I currently work part-time as an in-house translator in Barcelona, but would like to do some freelance work to supplement my income. I have been told various things - but I now think that I only have to register with the Hacienda to pay taxes, but I do not need to pay seguridad social. Am I correct? Also, issuing invoices here in Spain confuses me too, with 16% VAT and another item
... See more
Hello fellow translators!

Just on to ask for clarification of something that continually confuses me. I currently work part-time as an in-house translator in Barcelona, but would like to do some freelance work to supplement my income. I have been told various things - but I now think that I only have to register with the Hacienda to pay taxes, but I do not need to pay seguridad social. Am I correct? Also, issuing invoices here in Spain confuses me too, with 16% VAT and another item to be added also. Could someone clarify the whole process?

Have a good week translating!

Paul

[Edited at 2008-06-10 13:44]
Collapse

Monika Jakacka Márquez
Monika Jakacka Márquez  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 19:13
Polish to Spanish
+ ...

Moderator of this forum
registering process Jun 10, 2008

Here you are some useful information about the steps to be taken when registering as a freelancer in Spain:
http://www.proz.com/forum/spanish/50356-¿cuanto_cuesta_hacerse_autonomo.html#372566

You can also search in forum archive for other relevant informations.

Actually, I don't know if you have to or not to pay Segurida
... See more
Here you are some useful information about the steps to be taken when registering as a freelancer in Spain:
http://www.proz.com/forum/spanish/50356-¿cuanto_cuesta_hacerse_autonomo.html#372566