Pre-Translation Analysis: What is involved?
Thread poster: andrewj
andrewj
andrewj
English to French
+ ...
Jul 12, 2008

Hey, I am currently studying French and German as an undergrad and I have been given an assignment where I have to pretend I have been asked to translate James Joyces book "A Portrait of The Artist As A Young Man" into a language of my choice (not even specifically French or German). I have to write a pre-translation analysis about it, but the problem is that I am not entirely sure what that means. I was wondering if anybody could shed some light on it for me?

Peter Manda (X)
Peter Manda (X)
Local time: 09:33
German to English
+ ...
pt analysis Jul 13, 2008

I suppose your professor would like you to think through the translation of the book on a practical and a theoretical level.

On the practical level, I suppose he/she would like to see an analysis of the types of obstacles you will face (diction, sentence length, grammatical structure, semiotic reference) and how you will deal with those problems (will you decide to use a CAT? and why? or why not?).

On the theoretical, I suppose he/she would like to see you analyze fro
... See more
I suppose your professor would like you to think through the translation of the book on a practical and a theoretical level.

On the practical level, I suppose he/she would like to see an analysis of the types of obstacles you will face (diction, sentence length, grammatical structure, semiotic reference) and how you will deal with those problems (will you decide to use a CAT? and why? or why not?).

On the theoretical, I suppose he/she would like to see you analyze from Benjamin forward the structural details of the book, the complexities posed by the langue, and the marginal relevance of meaning in the greater linguistic context.

Hope this helps ...

[Edited at 2008-07-13 05:12]
Collapse

Lia Fail (X)
Lia Fail (X)  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 15:33
Spanish to English
+ ...
Cristiane Nord Jul 13, 2008