Mobile menu

Beginner Translator - how to handle missing phrases in STs?
Thread poster: BarbaraRogstad
BarbaraRogstad
Local time: 22:35
French to English
+ ...
Aug 7, 2008

Ignore obvious (and LARGE) sections of missing text in a Source Text?

I'm currently an undergrad and while I was abroad in Switzerland I took an (supposedly introductory, though I'm not so sure) English-German Translation class.

While working on my final project for this class I noticed that there were missing phrases from one of the 'source texts' he gave us. (I searched the original source text and found that it was an article from Welt-Online) Not only are there a few missing phrases but there are missing paragraphs as well AND he seems to have inserted a photo caption into the introductory paragraph...

I noticed this earlier in the project when I discovered that one article in particular was actually two completely different pieces of writing, from two different authors, at different times of the year, and for different purposes, cut and pasted into one big article.

I'm not sure if I should ignore this and just try to translate the given "article" as-is or if I should bring my findings to the attention of the professor. I have never worked as a translator before, this is my first experience at trying to do anything more complex than minor phrases in my beginning level German classes and so I am not sue how an experienced translator would handle such a situation.

What would you suggest?

[Edited at 2008-08-07 23:01]

Direct link Reply with quote

Wolfgang Jörissen  Identity Verified
Belize
Dutch to German
+ ...
Moving this thread... Aug 7, 2008

to "Translation Theory and Practice"

Paul Merriam  Identity Verified
Local time: 01:35
Member (2008)
Russian to English
+ ...
In the commercial world Aug 7, 2008