How to calculate translation time
Thread poster: Sandra Sol Rodrigo
Sandra Sol Rodrigo
Local time: 22:26
French to Spanish
+ ...
Aug 8, 2008

Hello everybody.

I have a question about how to calculate the time of the translations. Now I work for a company where I write software handbooks, usually in Spanish, but sometimes I'm asked to traslate some documents from Spanish into English. When my boss asks me about the time I need, I use to count 2000 words per day (8 hours) in EN->ES sense, but I have to add extra time if it's ES->EN and if it's not my speciality (I'm a Telecommunications Engineer). Can anybody help me a little bit?

Thank you very much.
Sandra

Direct link Reply with quote

xxxsavaria
Hungary
English to Hungarian
+ ...
My advice Aug 8, 2008

First of all,you should only accept translations related to telecommunication,if that is the only field you are expert in.And in the meantime,you should dig yourself into other fields of expertise,to be able to accept more jobs.

ViktoriaG  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 16:26
English to French
+ ...
Try this Aug 8, 2008

I have been using WorkCoach for a short while and I really like it. It measures the time you actively spend on a process in your computer, that is, the time you are actively viewing or working in a specific application/window. You need to set it up to monitor the processes you use for translating. The processes I set up for translation are Workbench, TagEditor, my browser (I specify the pages I use for translation research individually, so when I take a break and get lost on ProZ or read the online newspaper, that doesn't count) and my e-mail client for communicating with the client that gave me my current job.