translating a short poem or song inside a novel
Thread poster: -angie-

-angie-  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 04:24
English to Italian
+ ...
Mar 11, 2009

This is just a curiosity since I have never translated anything and I'm new in this field.

What does a translator normally do when he/she finds a piece of poem or a song within a novel?
Does he/she translate it even if it loses its original rhythm, sound and most of all the rhyme?

I mean..if he/she makes every effort in keeping the above mentioned aspects of it, but in the end he/she can't reproduce them...what's the choice at that point? Should we leave the oiginal text and add a foot note with the translation of the content or what else?? which are other possible solutions?

Thanks bunches!

Direct link Reply with quote

Igor Indruch  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
English to Czech
It depends... Mar 11, 2009

on what is the "role" of the poem in the context of novel.

Italy
English to Italian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
not of great relevance Mar 11, 2009

Le's say it doesn't play a central role.

How would you cope with it?

Czech Republic
English to Czech
still no general rule :) Mar 11, 2009

depends also on the poem - what is more important? The content or form? If the poem is very rhytmical with vague or even absurd content, then I try to preserve rhytm and not take much care about content. If the content is crucial, I concentrate on the content... it is easy... but difficult

Czech Republic
English to Czech
consider this...:) Mar 11, 2009

There was one man who heard the chime
for which he never had a rhyme
so he just sat and chew the lime
and everything seemed to be so fine
for man who heard that little chime.

Italy
English to Italian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
not sure Mar 11, 2009

hmmm...it doesn't sound so deep as a poem!

should I leave it as it is?

Czech Republic
English to Czech
What do you mean by "deep"? Mar 11, 2009

Do you know Christian Morgenstern? Edward Lear? Lewis Carroll?

Italy