krishna mallick
krishna mallick
India
Local time: 23:20
Japanese to English
+ ...
Mar 5, 2004

Hi,
I am going to do interpretation for the first time. I am not really good at spoken japanese but very well versed with terminology, etc. What I always fear is, though I know all words I get struck up in the sentence and will not be able to proceed.

can you tell me what I should prepare and concentrate on.

Monika Coulson
Monika Coulson  Identity Verified
Local time: 11:50
Member (2001)
English to Albanian
+ ...
SITE LOCALIZER
Be calm first of all Mar 5, 2004

aikokujin wrote:
What I always fear is, though I know all words I get struck up in the sentence and will not be able to proceed.

Hello aikokujin,
Good luck with your assignment. I am sure you will do fine. I know what you mean by being afraid of getting stuck with an expression or sentence. Try to do your best. No interpreter can interpret 100% of what they say in a Conference. If you can't remember a certain word, or term, use a synonym or a word/expression that is very similar. If you miss something, do not loose your mind over it, be calm and keep going with the rest of the speech.
If you are going to be in a booth and have a table, try to keep notes of the main key words. In my case, I write down nouns and numbers. If it is a simultaneous interpretation, do not expect to interpret everything, but it will get better. Pay attention to what the speaker says, try to write down some key words or signs and let your mouth say the words.
Good luck again,
Monika

[Edited at 2004-03-05 06:13]

Monika Coulson
Monika Coulson  Identity Verified
Local time: 11:50
Member (2001)
English to Albanian
+ ...
SITE LOCALIZER
If it is court interpretation Mar 5, 2004

...then it's a different story. In this case then you will do consecutive interpretation. Make sure that you interpret everything they say, as they say it. From my experience, they speak slow and in short sentences, so you will be able to interpret everything.