Translating difficulties with educational systems
Thread poster: jmd1983
jmd1983
Netherlands
Local time: 14:54
English to Dutch
+ ...
May 24, 2004

As I was trying a sample translation from English to Dutch I came across some problems. I am relatively new to the translating business so I do apologise in advance for asking stupid questions.

I was translating part of a brochure for an English private school. How do you translate Year 9, GCSE, A levels and other similar terms? The Dutch system is so different. Even the grading (we use a scale of 1-10)! How do I translate grades? Can anyone give me some advice?

Direct link Reply with quote

Henry Hinds  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 06:54
English to Spanish
+ ...
Post May 24, 2004

Post it in the Kudoz questions (ask question) and I'm sure you will get much help.

Educational systems and equivalents vary quite a bit from country to country, that is one thing we quickly learn.

Andrea Ali  Identity Verified
Argentina
Local time: 09:54
Member (2003)
English to Spanish
+ ...
First of all, welcome! May 24, 2004

Sometimes there are no equivalents. Therefore, in those cases, you could leave the English term and explain it in Dutch.

These links may help:
www.dfes.gov.uk
www.universitiesuk.ac.uk
www.universities-scotland.ac.uk
www.hew.ac.uk
www.aut.org.uk
www.ucas.ac.uk

But do follow Henry's piece of advice as well!

Good luck!
Andrea

davidgreen
German to English
you've already got some good advice May 24, 2004

I'd just like to add, as someone said above, that there are often no "real" translations for diplomas/school systems etc. Case in point, in Los Angeles there's a company specializing in "officially" comparing a degree from a given US university or high school with one of a foreign university or high school etc.

xxxLia Fail  Identity Verified
Spain
Spanish to English
+ ...
Who is going to be reading the text? May 24, 2004