Shall we use the \"modern\" and widely used English word or insist on using the local equivalent?
Thread poster: Irina Ivanova (X)
Irina Ivanova (X)
Irina Ivanova (X)
Local time: 01:36
Russian to English
+ ...
Apr 22, 2002

After 8 years of working in a bi-lingual Czech-English environment in Prague and a couple of months back in my native Bulgaria where I work as a translator it seems to me that we can have quite an impact on the development on the language.

Take business, for example. In Central and Eastern Europe the language was frozen for 40 odd years in terms of developing business terminology (and a bit longer than that in Russia!). It took several years in Prague to agree on a local e
... See more
After 8 years of working in a bi-lingual Czech-English environment in Prague and a couple of months back in my native Bulgaria where I work as a translator it seems to me that we can have quite an impact on the development on the language.

Take business, for example. In Central and Eastern Europe the language was frozen for 40 odd years in terms of developing business terminology (and a bit longer than that in Russia!). It took several years in Prague to agree on a local equivalent of the simple word \"developer\" (as in real estate developer) - the Cz equivalent sounded too old fashioned (last time it was properly used was in the 1930s).

Same in Bulgaria - do I use the English work \"manager\" (spelled in Cyrillic of course) or a Bulgarian equivalent which might sound a bit old-fashioned.

I am a purist so I try to stick to the Cz or Bulg word whenever possible, but I would like to hear from other translators working in developing markets.

Thanks
Collapse

jccantrell
jccantrell  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 22:36
Member (2005)
German to English
Know your target audience Apr 22, 2002

While I do not work in a developing market, working into English presents the same problem.