Am I plagiarizing?
Thread poster: Wilman

Wilman  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 18:58
Chinese to English
+ ...
Dec 8, 2004

I am new to the field so please excuse my ignorance. I am working on a translation project that involves news segments. Some segments contain quotes from both English and non-English sources such as statements made by world leaders at a press conference, contents of an organization's annual report, English version of foreign newspapers etc. I would like to know if it's considered plagiarism if I quote them word by word in my translation?

I appreciate your input.

Direct link Reply with quote

giogi
Local time: 23:58
well... Dec 8, 2004

plagiarism is taking or copying someone's words or ideas and presenting them as if they were your own.
A quotation is never considered as plagiarism.
There are different ways to make clear that you're deling with a quotation...brackets, Italics, footnotes...anyway I suppose that you are translating quotations already recognised as such!
Cheers
Giovanna

United States
Chinese to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
What about quotes that might have been translated from a foregin language into English already? Dec 8, 2004

Giovanna Rampone, PhD wrote:

plagiarism is taking or copying someone's words or ideas and presenting them as if they were your own.
A quotation is never considered as plagiarism.
There are different ways to make clear that you're deling with a quotation...brackets, Italics, footnotes...anyway I suppose that you are translating quotations already recognised as such!
Cheers
Giovanna

Hi Giovanna,

Thank you for your advice. I guess my main concern is that I am not sure if some of the statements made by foreign leaders/company directors/newspapers are in English or in their own languages then translated into English by the reporters. In the latter case, if I'm quoting them word by word and put them in quotations, am I plagiarizing?

Deborah Shannon  Identity Verified
Germany