I am new to translation and I need experience. Where do I find it?
Thread poster: Birder365
Birder365
Birder365  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 22:04
English to Spanish
Jan 27, 2005

I am studying Spanish at Arizona State University, and I want to become a translator and/or an interpreter. I need experience, but it is not easy to find it without lying. Where do I go?

Anuja Trehan
Anuja Trehan  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 10:34
Spanish to English
+ ...
Have patience Jan 27, 2005

Hello Monica,
In the field of translation/Interpretation initially its really difficult to get work and I think that happens with other fields as well not only translation.
Seeing it from the company point of view I think they believe that their business will be at stake if they give work to inexperienced people.

THEN WHAT SHUD WE DO??SHUD WE LIE?? I DON'T THINK SO.. THEN WHAT??

I feel its a very good idea to highlight ur qualifications related to the langua
... See more
Hello Monica,
In the field of translation/Interpretation initially its really difficult to get work and I think that happens with other fields as well not only translation.
Seeing it from the company point of view I think they believe that their business will be at stake if they give work to inexperienced people.

THEN WHAT SHUD WE DO??SHUD WE LIE?? I DON'T THINK SO.. THEN WHAT??

I feel its a very good idea to highlight ur qualifications related to the language also try including instances in your resume which gives the outsources a belief that YES YOU CAN DO IT DESPITE NOT BEING EXPERIENCED.

I am a freelance translator with 8yrs experience, I come from India and in India generally you charge less (perhaps to the height of getting exploited ) to get experience.I don know where u from and how it works in ur county.

In case of any doubt you can always contact me at [email protected]
Collapse

Nema
Nema  Identity Verified
Local time: 07:04
English to Spanish
+ ...
Try NGO's Jan 27, 2005

Hi