Thread poster: Pablo Roufogalis (X)
Pablo Roufogalis (X)
Pablo Roufogalis (X)
Colombia
Local time: 16:40
English to Spanish
Feb 27, 2005

Hello to all.

I do very little editing work but the few dozen times I have done it I have found myseld doing almost a rewrite of the translator's work.

At the end it is a lot of work for a fraction of my usual fee.

Where do you draw the line?

Should the second translator say: "Yes, the style is lousy but grammatically correct and I am just an editor"? Sounds to me as "I just work heah".

I think that the final document after editing
... See more
Hello to all.

I do very little editing work but the few dozen times I have done it I have found myseld doing almost a rewrite of the translator's work.

Should the second translator say: "Yes, the style is lousy but grammatically correct and I am just an editor"? Sounds to me as "I just work heah".

I think that the final document after editing must be perfect and if I were the end customer I would not accept less than that, after paying for four eyes and the agency's internal resources.

Many thanks in advance for your comments.
Collapse

Derek Gill Franßen
Derek Gill Franßen  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 23:40
German to English
+ ...
In memoriam
Perfection is in the eye of the beholder... Feb 27, 2005

Pablo Roufogalis wrote:
Hello to all.

Hi!

Pablo Roufogalis wrote:
(...)
I think that the final document after editing must be perfect(...).

Please do not take this the wrong way, but - aside from my aforementioned comment that "perfection is in the eye of the beholder" - how can someone, who professes not to edit very often, honestly profess to know what "perfection" is (though "a few dozen" makes you more than a total beginner - IMHO)?

Pablo Roufogalis wrote: