Mobile menu

Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
How can I guarantee the quality of my work?
Thread poster: Mariana Postolache

Mariana Postolache  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 00:47
English to Romanian
+ ...
Aug 29, 2005

Hello!
I am rather new to this business, and I need a lot of help. Recently, I have received an e-mail from a foreign agency interested in including me in their database. They have asked me the following question:
"What is your method of guaranteeing the highest quality of your
translations?"
I am not sure how I can guarantee the quality of my work... I have searched through the forum, but I couldn't find something helpful. What do you think?

[Edited at 2005-08-29 13:03]

Direct link Reply with quote

Patricia Fierro, M. Sc.  Identity Verified
Ecuador
Local time: 18:47
Member (2004)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Proofreading and experience Aug 29, 2005

Hi,

You could ask an experienced translator to proofread your translations. I think that this would be the best way to prove your translations' quality. Another way would be by indicating the amount of experience and / or education that you have.

Good luck,
Patricia

Orla Ryan  Identity Verified
Ireland
Local time: 23:47
some methods Aug 29, 2005

It is not that complicated really. For example, do you run a spell-check, get someone else to read your text? Do you leave yourself enough time to translate the text, leave it, and then read it a day later with a fresh eye? Do you research jargon words?

It may sound pretty obvious, but you would be surprised how many translators forget to check their spelling before they deliver a text. (says she who had to fail a translation this morning on account of 30+ spelling errors! Grrrr!!)

O.

Textklick  Identity Verified
German to English
+ ...
Just one point of many Aug 29, 2005