Anyone know about UK/US advertising adaptation?
Thread poster: misscaboo4
misscaboo4
misscaboo4
Local time: 07:15
Spanish to English
Mar 17, 2006

Hello!

I am posting this message on proz in the hope that someone can help me with a dissertation I am working on looking into how companies overcome different languages variants in their English advertising.

I am studying for a Masters in International Business to compliment my BA in French and Spanish. In keeping with my craze for languages I have decided to look into how marketing is adapted for countries which speak the same language (in this case English) but th
... See more
Hello!

I am posting this message on proz in the hope that someone can help me with a dissertation I am working on looking into how companies overcome different languages variants in their English advertising.

I am studying for a Masters in International Business to compliment my BA in French and Spanish. In keeping with my craze for languages I have decided to look into how marketing is adapted for countries which speak the same language (in this case English) but the cultures are different. I am looking to compare how marketing and advertising is changed (if at all!) for the British and American marketplace and my research so far has come up with very little information. I do have some interesting insights into the two cultures and into how advertising has been changed, or not– but it seems that just a few companies and researchers have discussed this academically.

If anyone has any industry insights, contacts or knows of any academic research where I could get more information on this I would be very interested to hear from you. I am about to look into approaching companies both in the UK and America to do my primary research and this would really help me.

Thanks very much!

Catherine
Collapse

Patricia Lane
Patricia Lane  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 08:15
French to English
+ ...
One lead Mar 25, 2006

Catherine,