Mobile menu

Translation analysis
Thread poster: laurem
laurem  Identity Verified
Local time: 22:34
English to French
+ ...
Apr 3, 2006

I am in touch with a girl who studies at the school for interpretors where I studied myself some 15 years ago... She has been asked to analyse a translation (a bad one) for which she only has the French translation, not the original English text. She has to redo part of tha translation (without the original) and make a structured analysis of the caracteristics of the translation (with examples). She has asked for my help but, to be honest, I have never done such an exercice in the past and am not sure what I should start with. Did anyone of you had to do such a task before and could help with the methodology to adopt?
Thanks if you can help

Direct link Reply with quote

Giles Watson  Identity Verified
Italian to English
Look out for source language influence Apr 3, 2006

Hi Laurence,

If your friend has had no further instructions from the teacher, then one of the things to look out for will be French that shows the influence of the original English text in the form of non-standard orthography, vocabulary, grammar, phraseology, sentence structure and organisation of content.

Veronika Hansova  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
Member (2006)
English to Czech
+ ...
Lacking the original Apr 3, 2006

This is a tricky task. How can you do a translation analysis if you do not have the source text. For instance you can compare the word order (if the translator followed the source language word order and thus made a serious mistake), semiotics (misunderstood something from the source text and misinterpreted it in the target text), stylistics (source text - very text - unsuitable expressions)...

This way you can only do an analysis of this target text and then I would argue if it is a "translation" analysis. A terrible mistake of the teachers, I think.

I would suggest dividing the analysis in several parts: