Mobile menu

Transcription: ¿Need of a foot petal or specific elements?
Thread poster: Ruben Mendez Suarez

Ruben Mendez Suarez
Local time: 20:22
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jun 9, 2006

A company has told me to transcribe a set of mp3/ audio digital format files but I have never done transcrition before.
Should I refuse the job just because I have never done something like that before?
Is there a need for a foot petal and specific software in order to make a transcription?
Anyone can sintetize how a transcription process is done?

Thanks in advance for your help and answers!

Direct link Reply with quote

Juan Jacob  Identity Verified
Local time: 14:22
French to Spanish
+ ...
Don't need a foot peTal... Jun 9, 2006

...because I don't think you're a florist, nor a foot peDal.

Hi there.

Forgive my joke.

I don't think this is too difficult. I've done it, quite a lot, with casset and VHS (Old times).

Just hear 1, 2 or 3 sentences (of course, good memory is a plus), stop audio, go to Word, write it down, rewind audio, check audio with transcription, go on with 1, 2 or 3 sentences, and so on. That's it. Final check, of course.

Foot pedal is shurely fine for non-stop work, but this is not your case. There are voice-recognition softwares, of course, but still quite expensive and kind of difficult to use: you must "train it".

Go for it, and good luck.

Te hubiera contestado en español, pero como preguntaste en inglés, pues venga, y disculpa si no escribo bien en ese idioma.

[Editado a las 2006-06-09 01:50]

Nadia-Anastasia Fahmi  Identity Verified
Local time: 22:22
English to Greek
+ ...
My experience.... Jun 9, 2006

I use Windows Media Player, which enables me to go back and forth everytime I miss something or if something is not clear.

It works fine. Try it and let me know if you have any problems, I'll be happy to help.

Wenke Geddert  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
English to German
+ ...
Winamp Jun 9, 2006