https://www.proz.com/forum/translation_theory_and_practice/52590-do_faux_amis_cause_you_problems_in_translation.html

Do "faux amis" cause you problems in translation?
Thread poster: mpt_21 (X)
mpt_21 (X)
mpt_21 (X)
Local time: 05:58
French to English
Aug 3, 2006

I am doing my Master's dissertation in translation on "faux amis" and would be very grateful if you would answer this short questionnaire:

1) How frequently do you encounter "faux amis" in your translations? (Please state your source and target languages).

2) Do "faux amis" cause you problems in translation?

3) Do you feel that "faux amis" present more of a problem when translating medical and pharmaceutical text? Please give examples, if possible.
... See more
I am doing my Master's dissertation in translation on "faux amis" and would be very grateful if you would answer this short questionnaire:

1) How frequently do you encounter "faux amis" in your translations? (Please state your source and target languages).

2) Do "faux amis" cause you problems in translation?

3) Do you feel that "faux amis" present more of a problem when translating medical and pharmaceutical text? Please give examples, if possible.

4) Do you think there is sufficient up to date publicised material available on medical/pharmaceutical "faux amis"?

5) As a translator do you keep a glossary of faux-amis?

6) How useful would a corpus or glossary of medical and pharmaceutical faux amis be to you as a translator?

Many thanks for your assistance.
Collapse

Philippe Etienne
Philippe Etienne  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 06:58
English to French
Faux-amis can be tamed Aug 3, 2006

From my little experience in medical translations (mainly cardiology and clinical trials [ie statistics rather than medicine])

1) very often (EN>FR) control to name but one: régulation, contrôle, commande, maîtrise... These are not synonyms in French
2) Yes, but they can be solved