Style in academic papers
Thread poster: yne
yne
yne
Local time: 00:07
German to English
+ ...
Aug 31, 2006

I am currently proofreading an academic paper to be submitted to a journal. My query is this: the author has used personal pronouns throughout the text, eg "we suggest that", "we conclude that..". As an English teacher, I am forever preaching that academic writing in English should not have personal pronouns, should be written in the passive etc. I have edited the text throughout accordingly. My question is- would you all do the same?

Alan Campbell
Alan Campbell  Identity Verified
Russian to English
It depends Aug 31, 2006

I guess it would depend on what the client prefers. Do they have style guide or a contact to whom you could address your question?

I personally would leave the pronouns in tact as I don't think it would detract from the meaning. I'm an advocate of using plain English and tend to prefer active over passive, but I do realise that the passive is traditionally preferred in certain styles.

If the choice were mine, I would keep it in the active voice.

When I se
... See more
I guess it would depend on what the client prefers. Do they have style guide or a contact to whom you could address your question?

I personally would leave the pronouns in tact as I don't think it would detract from the meaning. I'm an advocate of using plain English and tend to prefer active over passive, but I do realise that the passive is traditionally preferred in certain styles.

If the choice were mine, I would keep it in the active voice.

When I see authors write such things as "the author of this text believes...", the author of this post wonders to himself, why not just use the personal pronoun?

[Edited at 2006-08-31 15:58]
Collapse

NancyLynn
NancyLynn
Canada
Local time: 19:07
Member (2002)
French to English
+ ...

Is it a translation? Aug 31, 2006

Is the document you're proofreading a translation or was it originally written in English?

Nancy

yne
yne