Mobile menu

Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Formatting etc.
Thread poster: briant
briant  Identity Verified
Local time: 03:29
French to English
Dec 2, 2006

Hey guys, I'm sorry to do this, as I've seen many threads that touch on this, but don't quite seem to nail it down for me.

I received an offer to translate, and did a relatively short test translation. Then I receive the documents. And they are scanned into PDF, and are old, so no Word document likely exists. The problem is that they are formatted a bit, letter head and various fonts and a few boxes.
So, I'd have to basically type this into word and format it. I assume some people do this kind of thing, but the rate I gave for translation was not enough to spend the time in this manner (it would obviously be different in Word). I am new to this and would appreciate any advice.

Direct link Reply with quote

Elvira Stoianov  Identity Verified
Luxembourg
Local time: 09:29
German to Romanian
+ ...
charge for the extra time Dec 2, 2006

If the client did not say in advance the original was a PDF file, you can ask them to deliver an editable file or charge for the extra time. Just make sure you settle this before starting work.

Henrik Pipoyan  Identity Verified
Local time: 12:29
Member (2004)
English to Armenian
You may want to see this thread Dec 2, 2006

http://www.proz.com/topic/59356

Nadia-Anastasia Fahmi  Identity Verified
Greece
Local time: 10:29
Member (2004)
English to Greek
+ ...
My two cents Dec 2, 2006

Why don't you use OCR to replicate the PDFs and work on the formatted text?

This is what I usually do (because I hate working without Trados) and my rate always takes into account the possibility of PDF files to be returned in formatted Word files.

French to English
TOPIC STARTER
I should have checked... Dec 2, 2006

Elvira Stoianov wrote: