Mobile menu

Diploma/transcript translation?
Thread poster: bozenalak
bozenalak
English to Polish
+ ...
Jan 10, 2007

I have a diploma and transcript to translate, it's from Poland. Do you have any advice how to go about translating one? Do you happen to have a template or an example of translated transcript that I could use as a reference?

Thank you,

Direct link Reply with quote

Tina Vonhof  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 16:37
Member (2006)
Dutch to English
+ ...
Original as example Jan 10, 2007

Take the original document as an example. The translated document should look as closely as possible the same as the original. There is no template because each diploma and each transcript is different. Often formatting the document is more work than the translation itself - therefore my advice is to charge an hourly rate, not a per word rate.

Henry Hinds  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 16:37
English to Spanish
+ ...
I would add Jan 11, 2007

I second what Tina says and would add that if the format is rather difficult, you do not need to waste time trying to make it exactly alike. As long as you can make it so people can understand the different parts and where they go, that is sufficient.

As she says, the translated document should look as much possible like the original, but you have no obligation to go overboard on that; plus the client would probably not want to pay for the extra time and work involved.

Olena Mankovska  Identity Verified
Local time: 23:37
Ukrainian to English
+ ...
Names of classes Jan 11, 2007

[quote]bozenalak wrote:

I have a diploma and transcript to translate, it's from Poland. Do you have any advice how to go about translating one? Do you happen to have a template or an example of translated transcript that I could use as a reference?

Thank you,