Mobile menu

Book project ethical/legal dilemma
Thread poster: Rachel Gorney

Rachel Gorney  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 05:35
French to English
Feb 1, 2007

I have an ethical question about a book translation project. Bear with me, it’s a long story.

I’m a French to English translator based in France. In December, I was contacted by a translation agency that I had never had any contact with before. It’s a one-person operation run by a woman who I’ll call Francine. She was urgently looking for a translator for a VERY interesting and VERY well-paid book project (to be printed privately, not with a publisher).

We negotiated a rate, and Francine drew up a one-page agreement (not a proper legal contract), which I signed. She submitted her offer to the author’s assistant (who I will call Victoria). Then: dead silence. This was strange since the author had initially been in a hurry to complete the translation by early February.

Six weeks later, we finally got a response from Victoria. Apparently, the author has received another estimate from a printer that includes both the printing AND translation. This offer is more attractive, so Francine’s offer has been shelved for the time being, at least until the author negotiates an even better deal with the printer in two weeks time.

Interestingly enough, there is still no translator officially lined up for this book. My guess is that the printer hasn't hired a translator yet.

Here is my question: can I bypass Francine entirely and make my own, direct bid for the project? With no third party as an intermediary, my offer is likely to undercut the other two. I have no prior or existing professional relationship with Francine, so it’s not like I would be losing a client. The “contract” I signed contains absolutely nothing like a non-competition clause at all.

Would this be considered illegal? Unethical? If it is merely rude, I'll still do it!