Worried about my translation speed
Thread poster: Deschant
Deschant
Deschant
Local time: 16:01
Apr 12, 2007

I'm quite new to the translation business (after some years doing occassional translations I started freelancing seriously last summer) and, after having read several threads and polls about the translation speed of the prozians, I'm starting to be slightly worried. Not that I'm too slow - on the contrary. If I'm working on a text which involves research and whose source language is German, I can sustain a speed of 400-500 words per hour. If it's a text in Italian on a subject I know well, I can... See more
I'm quite new to the translation business (after some years doing occassional translations I started freelancing seriously last summer) and, after having read several threads and polls about the translation speed of the prozians, I'm starting to be slightly worried. Not that I'm too slow - on the contrary. If I'm working on a text which involves research and whose source language is German, I can sustain a speed of 400-500 words per hour. If it's a text in Italian on a subject I know well, I can reach 700 or 800 words per hour. When I'm fully booked, I can translate 3500-4000 words daily without much effort and without having to work 16 hours a day (however I cannot sustain this rhythm for more than 3-4 days in a row). Now, that seems to be a very high translation speed, specially for a newbie.

I've wondered whether my speed compromises quality, but the agencies I work with seem satisfied, they keep giving me jobs, and the only time I was warned about my quality being slightly below standard was in a day in which, despite being sick, I insisted on meeting a deadline.