Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
3-step translation approach?
Thread poster: irishpolyglot

Local time: 02:54
French to English
+ ...
Aug 20, 2007

Hi everyone!

I have only been doing this (translating) for slightly less than two years and was trained on-the-job, so I am only familiar with the way the company I originally worked for does translations and I work that way as a freelance.

I would like any thoughts on possible theory that I might have missed with no formal translation education; I am an engineer by trade, and my training was by trial-and-error with a supervisor checking all translations and giving detailed criticism at the end of every week until she was satisfied with what I was producing. And most importantly, I would like to know your translation methods, since mine is a "3-step" approach:

1. Translate the entire document in one swoop, with almost no use of a dictionary (unless it is key to understanding or in the title), and leave a symbol beside every word or phrase that I was not sure of (I use the Spanish ¿ symbol, since it is never used in an English text, and mark anything that I even have the slightest doubt about)

2. Go through each of those marked points, researching online and in dictionaries how to best translate it and replace them.

3. Very carefully read (and re-read) the entire document to make sure that it sounds natural and is the best possible translation (I use synchronous-scrolling with the original on the side), correcting obvious "direct" translations, etc. etc.

I am sure you would all have other methods and I am curious to get to know them! I do it this way since I work faster doing the same task consistently (rather than translate one easy paragraph quickly and then have my flow stopped having to spend time researching a new term at the beginning of the next one for example).